Two reds

urbina

 

No real link between these two reds and no tasting notes either so just a short blog, like a diary entry/aide memoire. One of the advantages of blogging and something I wish I’d started years ago. The Urbina 1994 came from MWW recently, at £15 for two and was really good if you like old (and old-style) Rioja, as I do. Thin mouth feel but intensely savoury with refreshing acidity. Very easy to drink.

The Gauby 2006 was a WS purchase, about three years ago. A problem with these wines of this type – Cotes de Roussillon –  is knowing when to drink them. They usually need quite a bit of bottle age. Also they are rarely reviewed, although Jancis Robinson liked this a lot, as I discovered after I’d opened it. Anyway, rich, spicy, clearly mature and absolutely delicious. WS have the 2010 and I’m tempted.

Comments Off on Two reds

Filed under posted by Richard

Comments are closed.