Food and wine matching

al cos     There is a lot of information about food and wine matching. It’s not something I’ve taken much interest in with meat – red and fish – white about my level. But last night we had some calf liver and I had a look for potential matches. Given that there is really only one recipe for calf liver (the only food where this applies?) I though there would be some consensus on the wine. Not so, with pretty much every red grape mentioned as suitable, even beaujolais. So I thought I’d go with a ‘big’ red, partly to match the liver and also as a foil for the other essential ingredients, namely bacon and sage. (We also had grain mustard mash, roasted shallots and an oloroso based gravy). Coincidentally I’d been sorting out a cupboard and discovered a few wines I’d forgotten about. One of these was a 2003 Alvolo Aglianico del Vulture, made by Alovini in the south of Italy (14%). This was a good match as it turned out – lots a plummy fruit, perfumed, aged in oak but the tannin not predominating. A wine with some personality to counter the robust food. From the Wine Society, about £14 which is excellent value. Out of stock, as is a similar 2008 by the same maker. We also tried another one from the cupboard – Azienda Agricola Cos Pithos 2008, made in Sicily (13%). This is a blend of two grapes I know little about, Nero d’Avola and Frappato. Also WS but no longer stocked. Apparently the wine is matured in amphorae and is low sulphur. It could be considered a ‘natural wine’, something I’ve never knowingly tasted before. Comes in a stumpy bottle. Another lovely wine, lighter and with more acidity, lots of fresh fruit flavours and a long finish. I’ve passed the remainder on to Geoff for a comment.

(Geoff – I appreciated this offering left outside my front door; used to be milk that was  left there but this is more exciting. A day on and the wine had developed a real farmyard palate. As the Frappato is not considered a ‘long-liver’ whilst the Nero d’Avola is, I guess the former grape had partly oxidised leaving a full-bodied wine with a very savoury tang. It was not unpleasant but certainly distinctive. An acquired taste, you might say, and one that would suit richly flavoured foods.

Comments Off on Food and wine matching

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.