Eating my words?

mc

I recently opined how much I prefer the lighter style of Syrahs (amongst other) grape varieties. This obviously sent my partner in wine scurrying to his much vaunted cellar to dig out a sample I would call a ‘fruit bomb’. McGuigan’s Hand Made Batch 3 2007 Langhorne Creek hails from south-east of Adelaide, an area noted for ‘beefy reds’ and ‘very low rainfall’ (Stevenson). This cost £20 from Majestic Wines. Later vintages are widely available. The colour was almost black, the slight red tinge having a purple rim in the glass. There was an appealing smokiness to the nose in addition to the black pepper notes, typical of the grape. The fruit was more blackcurrant than anything else – and it was obvious. The palate had a luscious red-currant flavour and was very weighty with a long dry finish. But – and this is a big but for me – the sweetness was present, leaving a coating inside the mouth that, after three tastings I wanted to cleanse away. The finish was long. It has immediate appeal but, I wondered, how quickly would I tire of its insistence? Maybe it would suit a strong flavoured food – possibly barbecued (to be stereotypical) but I’m afraid it’s not a wine I will return to in a hurry. Richard may be able to comment on the second day.

[Richard: another wine another wax capsule experience. Yes, this had one too. I hadn’t yet received the the advice from the WS (see previous post) but a few minutes hacking (and cursing) away with a sharp knife soon exposed the cork. This claims to be a ‘hand crafted, limited edition’ wine. A wine with pretensions it seems. The web site (slow to load and difficult to navigate) is silent on the number of bottles made and aren’t all wines ‘hand crafted’ to an extent? So, not disposed to like the wine, even before tasting. The maker claims 18 months in oak but Geoff doesn’t mention tannins and I couldn’t taste any either. No obvious ageing potential. Our views on the day 1 tasting were thus similar – too fruity, too sweet.

We don’t do Stoptober here, just StopMonTuesday, if that makes sense. So what did the wine taste like on Wednesday, having been open, cork in, for 72 hours? Firstly it hadn’t gone off. The nose was more ‘generic red wine’ rather than peppery shiraz. Much drier now, sweetness gone, more savoury. I preferred it but have no inclination to buy another bottle.]

Comments Off on Eating my words?

Filed under posted by Geoff

Comments are closed.