Back on track

img_0542

Some interesting and drinkable wines this week.

My blind tasting was a semillon, which smelt rather like a Burgundian chardonnay at first but then the nose became more lime than lemon. The taste was high in both acidity and fruit with a slightly hard finish. This is a grape I rarely taste, even in a blend with sauvignon, so I had no idea was it was, although I did, eventually, guess South Africa. M&S £10.

[Geoff: Another favourite of mine – the Semillon grape, both solo and with Sauvignon blanc. I like it’s weight, the aromatic quality and the slight musky notes it lends. This had been opened 24 hours and had suffered a little in flavour but was still enjoyable. I don’t know if M & S still do this, I purchased it from Worth Brothers in Lichfield. Would have again and it would be interesting to see it develop. South African wines are particularly good value at the moment.]

img_0543

I also tried a ‘minor claret’ that had been open a while. It had a classic claret nose and, unlike of lot of cheaper red Bordeaux, the taste delivered what the nose promised. Rather drying with some fruit – it was a very good vintage. 50/50 CS Merlot apparently. About £20, various suppliers including Waitrose.

[Geoff: Can’t remember where I bought this – pity. Classic claret, nicely drying rather than overly full and fruity, great food wine]

Comments Off on Back on track

Filed under posted by Richard

Comments are closed.