Gaillard and daughter

This wine (Gaillard’s Marsanne IGP Collines Rhodaniennes 2015) was tasted blind. Had a nose which reminded me of riesling, then chardonnay – it was neither. Rather short, rather lacking in fruit – I think it had been open some time –  but it developed well in the glass and became an attractive drink. I eventually figured out it was a Rhone white but I find it hard to distinguish the grapes, apart from viognier so couldn’t get any further. Perhaps I should have done since we tasted another, different,  Rhone white only seven days ago.
The name on the bottle reminded me of a Cote Rotie (not blogged) by a maker with the same surname. This turns out to be the father of Jeanne Gaillard.

[Geoff: I liked this wine which I bought from Vin Neuf in Stratford (cost circa £10). Just off the main street, this independent shop is well worth a visit for its range of wines and the knowledge of James, the owner.

I think the wine needed time to open out into the full style of stone fruits and low acidity which are the hallmarks of the wines of the grape from this area. It was an interesting follow up to the St Peray, not quite as classy but excellent value.]

Comments Off on Gaillard and daughter

Filed under posted by Richard

Comments are closed.